Homemade Fresh Baked Bread the Easy Way

The first thing you need to understand when baking your own homemade bread is this: YOU WILL NOT PRODUCE GROCERY STORE LOOKING WHITE FLUFFY LOAVES !

Ok now that we’ve got that out of the way, our expectations are a bit more realistic. So I wanted to make some homemade bread from scratch. I did what I always do, I googled: Simple Bread Recipe. I google simple_____ recipes all of the time. Always find the shortest easiest recipes that way and this one was perfect. This was first recipe that came up and seemed easy enough and inexpensive enough. http://www.thesimpledollar.com/homemade-bread-cheap-delicious-healthy-and-easier-than-you-think/ I’ve got to give all credit and due respect to the author. Great recipe and great blog, check it out!

I always read the comments to see what changes others have had to make and with this recipe, the result seemed to be that most people were pretty satisfied with the end result. The only thing I did that was different than his recipe was to follow the instructions for the yeast that were on the package and I added a few drops of water to the dough as I was kneading because it was too dry. I’m no expert pastry chef but I went with my instincts as to what the dough to look and feel like. This recipe takes a good two and half hours. Making the dough is fairly quick and the baking last thirty minutes but your dough will need to raise for an hour twice. I’ll explain more in the pictures below.  All in all, my family was pleased with the results. The bread is delicious. Mine came out a little dense this first time but I think if I let my yeast work a little longer before making the dough, add a bit more water and maybe warm my milk, I’ll get a fluffier/lighter bread. Also, I’ve read that you  should put the bread in a piping hot oven. So I let my oven preheat during all of that dough rising time, two hours. A preheating oven’s stove top is an ideal place to set your dough as it rises as it needs to raise in a warm place. So I’ll whip another one day next week and let you know how it turns out! Enjoy!

All the ingredients

All the ingredients

Follow instructions on yeast package

Follow instructions on yeast package

This is what the proofing yeast looks like in 1/4 cup of warm water

This is what the proofing yeast looks like in 1/4 cup of warm water

Add yeast to a warmed bowl followed by melted butter, milk, salt and sugar

Add yeast to a warmed bowl followed by melted butter, milk, salt and sugar

Melt your butter, 1.5 tbs

Melt your butter, 1.5 tbs

measure your milk, 1/4 c

Measure your milk, 1/4 c

1tsp salt

1tsp salt

5 teaspoons sugar

5 teaspoons sugar

All mixed up before adding the flour

All mixed up before adding the flour

Add two cups of flour to begin, only add more as you need

Add two cups of flour to begin, only add more as you need

I only needed the two cups

I only needed the two cups

This is about what it should look like just before kneading

This is about what it should look like just before kneading

Dust your hands and a smooth flat surface with a small amount of flour

Dust your hands and a smooth flat surface with a small amount of flour

Knead for ten minutes. I set my kitchen timer. It's a workout for your arms and shoulders.

Knead for ten minutes. I set my kitchen timer. It’s a workout for your arms and shoulders.

Looks/feels like Play-Doh

Looks/feels like Play-Doh

Spray raising bowl with cooking spray

Spray rising bowl with cooking spray

Notice the pre rising size...

Notice the pre rising size…

Cover with cloth, set in a warm place to rise for an hour.

Cover with cloth, set in a warm place to rise for an hour.

Meanwhile, clean up. But leave your floured surface, you'll need it again.

Meanwhile, clean up. But leave your floured surface, you’ll need it again.

Not too much to clean up with the regular breakfast dishes.

Not too much to clean up with the regular breakfast dishes.

Spray your bread pan

Spray your bread pan

After an hour, you'll notice that your bread dough has doubled in size.

After an hour, you’ll notice that your bread dough has doubled in size.

Punch it down and flatten it out

Punch it down and flatten it out

Roll it

Roll it

Should be no longer than your bread pan

Should be no longer than your bread pan

Tuck in the ends

Tuck in the ends

Place dough in the pan, roll seam down

Place dough in the pan, roll seam down

Cover and let it set in a warm place for an additional hour to rise again

Cover and let it set in a warm place for an additional hour to rise again

Notice that it has doubled in size again. Note that this is about the size the finished product will be.

Notice that it has doubled in size again. Note that this is about the size the finished product will be.

Another pre bake view

Another pre bake view

Into the 400 degree oven for 30 minutes!

Into the 400 degree oven for 30 minutes!

Set your timer

Set your timer

It's done!

It’s done!

Looks so delicious, smells divine!

Looks so delicious, smells divine!

Remove immediately and Let cool completely on rack before slicing.

Remove immediately and Let cool completely on rack before slicing.

We caught a lil catnap while waiting for it to cool.

We caught a lil catnap while waiting for it to cool.

Finally, first slice! It's dense, looks like cake. Pound cake.

Finally, first slice! It’s dense, looks like cake. Pound cake.

Another view

Another view

Close up

Close up

BabyGirl Likes it!!

BabyGirl Likes it!!

Smothered with butter, REAL butter!

Smothered with butter, REAL butter!

All Sliced up.

All Sliced up.

All that was missing was my strawberry jam…..didn’t know we were out! But it was wonderful and easy. I could see myself making my own bread very often.

One thought on “Homemade Fresh Baked Bread the Easy Way

  1. That bread looks awesome, I love breads and cakes….I can’t wait to see your vegetable garden, thats a wonderful idea.

Leave a Reply

