Crochet scarf/shrug

I saw this idea on some website but the pattern was for sell. Yeah, I don’t buy crochet patterns online, so I designed my own. My sleeves weren’t as long as I would’ve liked because I ran out of yarn. I’ll buy two skeins next time. This was a test run, but I think it turned out pretty darn good.

To make this, you need to measure the widest part of your arm, should be your bicep. Then chain a length that is long enough to go around that. I chose to use a size N hook and triple crochet as my stitch because I wanted to work this project quickly, but you can use whatever stitch and hook size you feel up to.

I simply worked rows back and forth until I ran out of yarn. Ideally, you want to work until you reach your desired length. Whether that be short, ¾ or long sleeves, starting on one arm over the back of the shoulders and down the other arm. When you’ve reached your desired length, bind off and weave in ends. Fold what is essentially a wide scarf in half the long way. The fold with run through the center of each row. Lay it across your shoulders and down your arms to determine where your sleeves with fall. Once you’ve done that, starting at the end if a sleeve, count rows going up towards your armpit. This will be the number of rows you need to sew together on each end to create your sleeve holes while leaving the center open to go across your back and shoulders.
When you’re complete, you’ll have a tube with a slit down in the center.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Leave a Reply

